ترجمة: en English
للإبلاغ عن أحدث أنشطة ICE أو تعاون الشرطة / الجليد ، اتصل بخطنا الساخن 844-864-8341. المزيد من المعلومات

كولورادو DMV يوسع عدد المكاتب التي تقدم المواعيد والخدمات لرخصة القيادة SB-251 والمعرفات

19 أبريل
خبر صحفى
  • رخص القيادة

يمنح التوسع مزيدًا من الوصول إلى خدمات DMV لـ Coloradans بغض النظر عن حالة الهجرة

دنفر ، كولورادو - يشيد تحالف كولورادو لحقوق المهاجرين وتحالف I-Drive في كولورادو بالقرار الأخير الذي اتخذته وزارة المركبات الآلية (DMV) لتوسيع عدد مكاتب DMV التي توفر مواعيد لمجتمع المهاجرين للتقدم بطلب للحصول على رخصة قيادة ، بغض النظر عن حالة الهجرة.

بدءًا من هذا الأسبوع ، سيتمكن المئات من Coloradans من التقدم يوميًا للحصول على رخصة قيادة أقرب إلى المنزل بفضل إضافة ثمانية مكاتب حيث يمكن للجمهور الحصول على رخصة قيادة SB251 ، وهي فئة تسمح لـ Coloradans غير المسجلين بالتقدم للحصول على رخصة قيادة أو بطاقة الهوية إذا استوفت معايير معينة.

ستوفر مكاتب DMV الإضافية في جميع أنحاء الولاية - ستة في منطقة مترو دنفر واثنان في شمال كولورادو - عددًا محدودًا من المواعيد اليومية للجمهور. يضمن التوسيع الأخير توفر المواعيد في مناطق الولاية الأكثر طلبًا.

"يمكن أن يغير الترخيص حياة أسر المهاجرين. يمكن أن يحدث فرقًا بين القدرة على الذهاب إلى العمل أو الذهاب إلى الطبيب أو اصطحاب الأطفال في المدرسة. لكن هذا التوسع يساعد أيضًا جميع سكان كولوراد من خلال جعل طرقنا وطرقنا السريعة أكثر أمانًا لأن المزيد من السائقين سيكونون مرخصين بشكل صحيح ومسجلين ومؤمن عليهم وقادرين على فحص سياراتهم "، قال. ماريسا مولينا ، مديرة الهجرة بولاية كولورادو بشركة FWD.us. "بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإنه يجعل القوة العاملة في الولاية أكثر مرونة حيث يتمكن العمال من الوصول إلى العمل والعودة منه لأنهم يستطيعون الآن قيادة السيارة."

المكاتب الجديدة التي تقدم مواعيد رخصة القيادة SB-251 هي:

· المئوية - 10 مواعيد في اليوم

· الذهبي - 10 مواعيد في اليوم

· باركر - 10 مواعيد في اليوم

· دنفر NE - 15 موعدًا في اليوم

· Northglenn - 20 موعدًا في اليوم

وستمنستر - 15 موعدًا في اليوم

· غريلي - 20 موعدًا في اليوم

· الجنيه الاسترليني - 5 مواعيد في اليوم

"منذ عدة سنوات ، يعمل تحالف I-Drive مع DMV لإحداث تغيير ذي مغزى في الحياة اليومية للمهاجرين كولورادينز من خلال تنفيذ هذا البرنامج ، الذي يبدأ مرحلة جديدة مرحب بها هذا الأسبوع ،" سيينا مان ، مديرة التنظيم والحملات في ائتلاف كولورادو لحقوق المهاجرين. "هذه شهادة على ما يمكن تحقيقه عندما يعمل المجتمع عن كثب مع حكومة الولاية لصالح جميع سكان كولورادين. نشكر DMV على شراكتهم ، والتي أوصلتنا إلى هذه الخطوة المهمة للغاية ".

في الولايات الأخرى التي تم فيها تنفيذ تغييرات مماثلة ، فإن إتاحة الوصول الواسع إلى رخص القيادة بغض النظر عن حالة الهجرة يقلل من أقساط التأمين على السيارات ، ويزيد من عدد السائقين المؤمن عليهم ، ويجعل الطرق أكثر أمانًا وفقًا لدراسة أجرتها مراقب مدينة نيويورك.

لقد كنا نكافح خلال سنوات عديدة حتى يتمكن مجتمع المهاجرين لدينا من الحصول على رخص القيادة. يوضح افتتاح هذا المكتب أن جهودنا كانت تستحق العناء وأن هذه العملية شيئًا فشيئًا ، وهي مهمة جدًا لمجتمعنا ، ستكون بسيطة كما هي لجميع الآخرين "، قال" ييني أندرو فيفاس ، ملاح مع أليانزا نوركو في فورت كولينز. "سنواصل الكفاح من أجل المساواة في عملية الترخيص حتى تقدم جميع مكاتب DMV في كولورادو هذه الخدمة دون تمييز على أساس حالة الهجرة."

مع التوسيع ، يقدم 19 مكتبًا من مكاتب DMV في كولورادو حاليًا تعيينات رخصة القيادة SB-251.

"تقدم El Grupo Vida الدعم المتبادل للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة أو ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة داخل المجتمع اللاتيني. العديد من العائلات التي نعمل معها تعتمد على سيارة للانتقال إلى الخدمات الهامة ومواعيد الرعاية الصحية " Balbina Contreras ، ملاح مجتمعي ثنائي اللغة في El Grupo Vida. "المزيد من مواعيد DMV في منطقة مترو دنفر يعني أن عملائنا سيكونون أكثر سهولة في الحصول على رخصة قيادة ، وهو أمر بالغ الأهمية لتنقلهم وسيحميهم أيضًا من الانفصال عن عائلاتهم."

وأضاف أراسلي كالديرون ، زعيم مجتمع جريلي: "أنا سعيد جدًا لأن العائلات في غريلي كولورادو ستتاح لهم الفرصة للتقدم بطلب للحصول على رخصة قيادة في مجتمعهم. بشكل عام ، كان الناس في الماضي يضطرون إلى القيادة لساعات والتوقف عن العمل ، وخسارة الأجور واستئجار وسائل النقل في كثير من الأحيان. هذه أخبار رائعة ".

خلفيّة

في عام 2013 ، أقر المشرعون في كولورادو تشريعًا من الحزبين يسمح لجميع سكان كولورادا - بغض النظر عن وضع الهجرة - بالحصول على رخص قيادة قياسية. خلق العدد المحدود من مكاتب DMV التي تم التصريح لها بإصدار رخص القيادة SB-251 في ذلك الوقت تحديات كبيرة للمهاجرين عبر كولورادو الذين أرادوا التقدم للحصول على رخصة قيادة أو بطاقة هوية. في جلسة استماع للجنة المالية بمجلس الشيوخ في فبراير 2019 ، شهد العديد من أعضاء المجتمع أن انتظار الموعد قد يستغرق عدة أشهر. وفقًا لـ KUNC ، أجبرت القيادة التي استمرت لساعات إلى مكاتب رخصة القيادة هذه العديد من سكان Coloradans على تحمل تكاليف إضافية وفقدان العمل ، خاصة بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعيشون في المجتمعات الريفية.

قاد تحالف I-Drive جهود الدعوة لتوسيع نطاق الوصول إلى التراخيص وبطاقات الهوية ، مما يضمن حصول سكان كولورادين غير المسجلين في جميع أنحاء الولاية على موعد. تم دعم مبادرة الفطرة السليمة أيضًا من قبل مجموعات الزراعة ومنتجات الألبان ومجموعات الأعمال الأخرى ، مما سلط الضوء بشكل أكبر على أن هذا البرنامج في جذوره يخلق مستقبلًا أكثر ازدهارًا لجميع سكان كولورادا. في مايو 2019 ، وقع حاكم ولاية كولورادو جاريد بوليس على قانون "المزيد من قانون سلامة الطرق والمجتمع في كولورادو" ، والذي وسع البرنامج إلى 11 إجماليًا موزعة جغرافيًا DMVs في جميع أنحاء الولاية لإصدار رخص القيادة إلى Coloradans غير المسجلين. رسوم رخصة القيادة وبطاقات الهوية تمول البرنامج. في عام 2021 ، عمل ائتلاف I-Drive مع سناتور الولاية جولي غونزاليس والممثل سيرينا غونزاليس جوتيريز لطرح SB21-131. مشروع قانون يحظر على الدولة مشاركة المعلومات الشخصية مع شركة ICE وأطراف ثالثة دون أمر صادر عن المحكمة أو أمر أو أمر استدعاء. وقع الحاكم بوليس التشريع في يونيو من عام 2021 ، وهي خطوة مهمة لضمان ثقة مهاجري كولورادو في أن معلوماتهم ستبقى آمنة من قبل ولاية كولورادو ولن يتم مشاركتها لأغراض إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة.

لتحديد موعد ، يمكن للأفراد الاتصال بالرقم 303-205-2335 بين الساعة 8 صباحًا و 5 مساءً ، قم بزيارة DMV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling. إذا لم يتمكن المتقدمون المحتملون من اجتياز هاتين الطريقتين ، فيمكنهم الاتصال بأحد شركاء قانون سلامة الطرق والمجتمع، وهي منظمات مجتمعية غير ربحية تشارك مع DMV لدعم مجتمع المهاجرين في كولورادو. للحصول على معلومات باللغة الإسبانية ، يمكن للمتقدمين أيضًا زيارة InmigranteInformado.com/Colorado.

# # #

Traducir: en English
TO REPORT RECENT ICE ACTIVITY OR POLICE/ICE COLLABORATION, CALL OUR HOTLINE 844-864-8341. More Info

Colorado DMV Expands Number of Offices Offering Appointments, Services for SB-251 Driver License, IDs

April 19, 2022
Press Release
  • Drivers' Licenses

The Expansion Gives Further Access to DMV services for Coloradans Regardless of Immigration Status

Denver, CO — Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition and Colorado’s I-Drive Coalition applaud the recent decision by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to expand the number of DMV offices that provide appointments to the immigrant community to apply for a driver license, regardless of immigration status.

Starting this week, hundreds of Coloradans will be able to apply daily for a driver license closer to home thanks to the addition of eight offices where the public can obtain an SB251 driver license, a category that allows undocumented Coloradans to apply for a driver license or identification card if they meet certain criteria.

The additional DMV offices throughout the state – six in the Denver Metro area and two in northern Colorado – will offer a limited number of daily appointments to the public. The latest expansion ensures the availability of appointments in areas of the state with the highest demand.

A license can be life changing for immigrant families. It can make the difference between being able to get to work, go to the doctor or pick up the kids at school. But this expansion also helps all Coloradans by making our roads and highways safer because more drivers will be properly licensed, registered, insured, and able to get their cars inspected,” said Marissa Molina, Colorado State Immigration Director for FWD.us. “In addition, it makes our state labor force more flexible as workers are able to get to and from work because they can now drive a car.”

The new offices offering SB-251 driver license appointments are:

·     Centennial – 10 appointments per day

·     Golden – 10 appointments per day

·     Parker – 10 appointments per day

·     Denver NE – 15 appointments per day

·     Northglenn – 20 appointments per day

·     Westminster – 15 appointments per day

·     Greeley – 20 appointments per day

·     Sterling – 5 appointments per day

“For several years now, the I-Drive Coalition has been working with the DMV to bring meaningful change to the everyday lives of immigrant Coloradans through the implementation of this program, which starts a welcome new phase this week,” said Siena Mann, Organizing and Campaigns Manager at the Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition. “This is a testimony to what can be achieved when the community works closely with the state government for the benefit of all Coloradans. We thank the DMV for their partnership, which brought us to this very important step.”

In other states where similar changes have been implemented, giving broad access to driver licenses regardless of immigration status lowers auto insurance premiums, increases the number of insured drivers, and makes the roads safer according to a study by the New York City Comptroller.

“We have been fighting through many years so that our immigrant community can have access to driver licenses. The opening of this office shows that our efforts were worth it and that little by little this process, which is very important for our community, will be as simple as it is for all others,” said Yenny Andreu Vivas, a navigator with Alianza NORCO in Fort Collins. “We will continue fighting for equality in the licensing process until all DMV offices in Colorado offer this service without discriminating based on immigration status.”

With the expansion, 19 DMV Colorado offices currently offer SB-251 driver license appointments.

“El Grupo Vida provides mutual support for people with disabilities or special needs within the Latino community. Many of the families we work with rely on a vehicle for transportation to critical services and healthcare appointments,” said Balbina Contreras, a bilingual community navigator at El Grupo Vida. “More DMV appointments in the Denver Metro area means our clients will more easily be able to obtain a driver’s license, which is critical to their mobility and will also protect them from separation from their family.”

Added Aracely Calderon, a Greely community leader: “I’m very pleased that families in Greeley Colorado will have the opportunity to apply for a driver’s license in their own community. Generally, in the past folks had to drive for hours and stop working, lose wages and often hire transportation. This is amazing news.”

Background

In 2013, Colorado lawmakers passed bipartisan legislation allowing all Coloradans – regardless of immigration status – to obtain standard driver licenses. The limited number of DMV offices that were authorized to issue SB-251 driver licenses at that time created significant challenges for immigrants across Colorado who wanted to apply for a driver license or identification card. At a Senate Finance Committee hearing in February 2019, several community members testified that the wait for an appointment could take several months. According to KUNC, the hours-long drive to these driver license offices forced many Coloradans to incur additional costs and miss work, especially for those living in rural communities.

The I-Drive Coalition led advocacy efforts for expanded access to licenses and ID cards, ensuring that undocumented Coloradans across the state had access to an appointment. The common-sense initiative was also supported by farming, dairy and other business groups further highlighting that at its root this program creates a more prosperous future for all Coloradans. In May 2019, Colorado Governor Jared Polis signed into law the “More Colorado Road And Community Safety Act,” which expanded the program to 11 total geographically distributed DMVs across the state to issue driver licenses to undocumented Coloradans. The fees for the driver licenses and ID cards funds the program. In 2021, the I-Drive coalition worked with State Senator Julie Gonzales and Representative Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez to put forth SB21-131. A bill, which prohibits the state from sharing personal information with ICE and third parties without a court-issued warrant, order or subpoena. Governor Polis signed the legislation in June of 2021, an important step to ensure that Colorado immigrants can trust that their information will be kept safe by the state of Colorado and will not be shared for the purposes of immigration enforcement.

To schedule an appointment, individuals can call 303-205-2335 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., visit DMV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling . If would-be applicants cannot get through with these two methods, they can contact one of the Road and Community Safety Act partners, which are nonprofit community organizations that partner with the DMV to support the immigrant community in Colorado. For information in Spanish, applicants can also visit InmigranteInformado.com/Colorado.

###