Traducir: en English
要报告最近的冰活动或警察/冰合作,请致电我们的热线844-864-8341。 更多信息

科罗拉多州 DMV 扩大了提供 SB-251 驾驶执照、身份证预约、服务的办事处数量

April 19, 2022
新闻通讯
  • 驾驶执照

无论移民身份如何,扩展都为科罗拉多人提供了进一步的 DMV 服务

科罗拉多州丹佛 — 科罗拉多州移民权利联盟和科罗拉多州的 I-Drive 联盟对机动车辆部 (DMV) 最近决定扩大 DMV 办事处的数量表示赞赏,这些办事处为移民社区提供申请驾驶执照的预约,无论其移民身份如何。

从本周开始,由于增加了八个办公室,公众可以获得 SB251 驾驶执照,数百名科罗拉多人将能够每天在离家较近的地方申请驾驶执照,该类别允许无证的科罗拉多人申请驾驶执照或身份证,如果他们符合某些标准。

全州增设的 DMV 办公室——丹佛都会区有六个,科罗拉多州北部有两个——将为公众提供数量有限的日常预约。 最新的扩展确保了该州需求量最大的地区的预约可用性。

许可证可以改变移民家庭的生活。 它可以在能够上班、去看医生或去学校接孩子之间产生影响。 但这种扩张也通过使我们的道路和高速公路更安全来帮助所有科罗拉多人,因为更多的司机将获得适当的执照、注册、保险,并能够检查他们的汽车,”说 FWD.us 科罗拉多州移民局局长 Marissa Molina. “此外,它使我们的州劳动力更加灵活,因为工人现在可以开车上下班了。”

提供 SB-251 驾驶执照预约的新办公室是:

· Centennial – 每天 10 次约会

· Golden – 每天 10 次约会

· 帕克 – 每天 10 次约会

· 丹佛东北部 – 每天 15 次约会

· Northglenn – 每天 20 次约会

· 威斯敏斯特 – 每天 15 次约会

· Greeley – 每天 20 次约会

· 英镑 – 每天 5 次约会

“几年来,I-Drive Coalition 一直与 DMV 合作,通过实施该计划为移民科罗拉多人的日常生活带来有意义的改变,本周该计划开启了一个受欢迎的新阶段,”说 Siena Mann,科罗拉多移民权利联盟的组织和活动经理. “这证明了当社区与州政府密切合作以造福所有科罗拉多人时可以取得的成就。 我们感谢 DMV 的合作,让我们迈出了非常重要的一步。”

根据联邦调查局的一项研究,在其他实施了类似改革的州,无论移民身份如何,都可以广泛获得驾驶执照,这会降低汽车保险费,增加投保司机的数量,并使道路更安全。 纽约市主计长.

“我们多年来一直在努力,以便我们的移民社区能够获得驾驶执照。 这个办公室的开设表明我们的努力是值得的,这个对我们的社区非常重要的过程将一点一点地变得像对所有其他人一样简单,”说 Yenny Andreu Vivas,Alianza NORCO 在柯林斯堡的导航员. “我们将继续在许可过程中争取平等,直到科罗拉多州的所有 DMV 办事处都提供这项服务,而不会基于移民身份进行歧视。”

随着扩张,19 个 DMV 科罗拉多办事处目前提供 SB-251 驾驶执照预约。

“El Grupo Vida 为拉丁裔社区内的残疾人或有特殊需要的人提供相互支持。 与我们合作的许多家庭都依赖交通工具前往关键服务和医疗预约,”说 Balbina Contreras,El Grupo Vida 的双语社区导航员. “丹佛都会区更多的 DMV 预约意味着我们的客户将更容易获得驾驶执照,这对他们的机动性至关重要,也将保护他们免于与家人分离。”

已收藏 Aracely Calderon,Greely 社区领袖:“我很高兴科罗拉多州格里利的家庭将有机会在自己的社区申请驾照。 一般来说,过去人们不得不开车几个小时而停止工作,失去工资并经常租用交通工具。 这是一个了不起的消息。”

背景

2013 年,科罗拉多州立法者通过了两党立法,允许所有科罗拉多人——无论其移民身份如何——获得标准驾驶执照。 当时被授权颁发 SB-251 驾驶执照的 DMV 办公室数量有限,这给科罗拉多州想要申请驾驶执照或身份证的移民带来了重大挑战。 在 2019 年 XNUMX 月的参议院财政委员会听证会上,一些社区成员作证说,等待任命可能需要几个月的时间。 根据 KUNC 的说法,前往这些驾驶执照办公室的长达数小时的车程迫使许多科罗拉多人承担了额外的费用并错过了工作,尤其是对于那些生活在农村社区的人。

I-Drive 联盟领导了扩大获得许可证和身份证的宣传工作,确保全州的无证科罗拉多人能够获得预约。 该常识性倡议也得到了农业、乳制品和其他商业团体的支持,进一步强调了该计划的根本意义在于为所有科罗拉多人创造了一个更加繁荣的未来。 2019 年 11 月,科罗拉多州州长贾里德·波利斯签署了《更多科罗拉多州道路和社区安全法案》,该法案将该计划扩大到全州 2021 个地理分布的 DMV,向无证科罗拉多州人颁发驾驶执照。 驾驶执照和身份证的费用为该计划提供资金。 21 年,I-Drive 联盟与州参议员 Julie Gonzales 和众议员 Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez 合作提出了 SB131-2021。 一项法案,禁止该州在没有法院签发的搜查令、命令或传票的情况下与 ICE 和第三方共享个人信息。 波利斯州长于 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月签署了这项立法,这是确保科罗拉多州移民可以相信他们的信息将由科罗拉多州保护并且不会出于移民执法目的而共享的重要步骤。

要安排预约,个人可以在上午 303 点至下午 205 点之间致电 2335-8-5,访问 DMV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling。 如果准申请人无法通过这两种方法,他们可以联系其中一种 道路和社区安全法合作伙伴,这是与 DMV 合作支持科罗拉多州移民社区的非营利性社区组织。 有关西班牙语的信息,申请人还可以访问 InmigranteInformado.com/Colorado.

###

Traducir: en English
TO REPORT RECENT ICE ACTIVITY OR POLICE/ICE COLLABORATION, CALL OUR HOTLINE 844-864-8341. More Info

Colorado DMV Expands Number of Offices Offering Appointments, Services for SB-251 Driver License, IDs

April 19, 2022
Press Release
  • Drivers' Licenses

The Expansion Gives Further Access to DMV services for Coloradans Regardless of Immigration Status

Denver, CO — Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition and Colorado’s I-Drive Coalition applaud the recent decision by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to expand the number of DMV offices that provide appointments to the immigrant community to apply for a driver license, regardless of immigration status.

Starting this week, hundreds of Coloradans will be able to apply daily for a driver license closer to home thanks to the addition of eight offices where the public can obtain an SB251 driver license, a category that allows undocumented Coloradans to apply for a driver license or identification card if they meet certain criteria.

The additional DMV offices throughout the state – six in the Denver Metro area and two in northern Colorado – will offer a limited number of daily appointments to the public. The latest expansion ensures the availability of appointments in areas of the state with the highest demand.

A license can be life changing for immigrant families. It can make the difference between being able to get to work, go to the doctor or pick up the kids at school. But this expansion also helps all Coloradans by making our roads and highways safer because more drivers will be properly licensed, registered, insured, and able to get their cars inspected,” said Marissa Molina, Colorado State Immigration Director for FWD.us. “In addition, it makes our state labor force more flexible as workers are able to get to and from work because they can now drive a car.”

The new offices offering SB-251 driver license appointments are:

·     Centennial – 10 appointments per day

·     Golden – 10 appointments per day

·     Parker – 10 appointments per day

·     Denver NE – 15 appointments per day

·     Northglenn – 20 appointments per day

·     Westminster – 15 appointments per day

·     Greeley – 20 appointments per day

·     Sterling – 5 appointments per day

“For several years now, the I-Drive Coalition has been working with the DMV to bring meaningful change to the everyday lives of immigrant Coloradans through the implementation of this program, which starts a welcome new phase this week,” said Siena Mann, Organizing and Campaigns Manager at the Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition. “This is a testimony to what can be achieved when the community works closely with the state government for the benefit of all Coloradans. We thank the DMV for their partnership, which brought us to this very important step.”

In other states where similar changes have been implemented, giving broad access to driver licenses regardless of immigration status lowers auto insurance premiums, increases the number of insured drivers, and makes the roads safer according to a study by the New York City Comptroller.

“We have been fighting through many years so that our immigrant community can have access to driver licenses. The opening of this office shows that our efforts were worth it and that little by little this process, which is very important for our community, will be as simple as it is for all others,” said Yenny Andreu Vivas, a navigator with Alianza NORCO in Fort Collins. “We will continue fighting for equality in the licensing process until all DMV offices in Colorado offer this service without discriminating based on immigration status.”

With the expansion, 19 DMV Colorado offices currently offer SB-251 driver license appointments.

“El Grupo Vida provides mutual support for people with disabilities or special needs within the Latino community. Many of the families we work with rely on a vehicle for transportation to critical services and healthcare appointments,” said Balbina Contreras, a bilingual community navigator at El Grupo Vida. “More DMV appointments in the Denver Metro area means our clients will more easily be able to obtain a driver’s license, which is critical to their mobility and will also protect them from separation from their family.”

Added Aracely Calderon, a Greely community leader: “I’m very pleased that families in Greeley Colorado will have the opportunity to apply for a driver’s license in their own community. Generally, in the past folks had to drive for hours and stop working, lose wages and often hire transportation. This is amazing news.”

Background

In 2013, Colorado lawmakers passed bipartisan legislation allowing all Coloradans – regardless of immigration status – to obtain standard driver licenses. The limited number of DMV offices that were authorized to issue SB-251 driver licenses at that time created significant challenges for immigrants across Colorado who wanted to apply for a driver license or identification card. At a Senate Finance Committee hearing in February 2019, several community members testified that the wait for an appointment could take several months. According to KUNC, the hours-long drive to these driver license offices forced many Coloradans to incur additional costs and miss work, especially for those living in rural communities.

The I-Drive Coalition led advocacy efforts for expanded access to licenses and ID cards, ensuring that undocumented Coloradans across the state had access to an appointment. The common-sense initiative was also supported by farming, dairy and other business groups further highlighting that at its root this program creates a more prosperous future for all Coloradans. In May 2019, Colorado Governor Jared Polis signed into law the “More Colorado Road And Community Safety Act,” which expanded the program to 11 total geographically distributed DMVs across the state to issue driver licenses to undocumented Coloradans. The fees for the driver licenses and ID cards funds the program. In 2021, the I-Drive coalition worked with State Senator Julie Gonzales and Representative Serena Gonzales-Gutierrez to put forth SB21-131. A bill, which prohibits the state from sharing personal information with ICE and third parties without a court-issued warrant, order or subpoena. Governor Polis signed the legislation in June of 2021, an important step to ensure that Colorado immigrants can trust that their information will be kept safe by the state of Colorado and will not be shared for the purposes of immigration enforcement.

To schedule an appointment, individuals can call 303-205-2335 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., visit DMV.Colorado.gov/AppointmentScheduling . If would-be applicants cannot get through with these two methods, they can contact one of the Road and Community Safety Act partners, which are nonprofit community organizations that partner with the DMV to support the immigrant community in Colorado. For information in Spanish, applicants can also visit InmigranteInformado.com/Colorado.

###