ترجمة: en English
للإبلاغ عن أحدث أنشطة ICE أو تعاون الشرطة / الجليد ، اتصل بخطنا الساخن 844-864-8341. المزيد من المعلومات

يطرح مهاجرو كولورادو أسئلة صعبة على أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ حول المواطنة ، وإعادة البناء بشكل أفضل ، وزيادة الميزانية المثيرة للجدل

16 مارس، 2022
في الأخبار
  • خصوصية البيانات
  • إصلاح نظام الهجرة
  • الخدمات القانونية

دنفر، CO - انضم زعماء الديانات والدعاة وأعضاء مجتمع المهاجرين مع السناتور هيكنلوبر والسيناتور بينيت في قاعة بلدية عامة مساء الاثنين. حضر أكثر من 200 شخص من مونتروز إلى فورت مورغان ، بويبلو إلى فورت كولينز. أعرب المتحدثون في الحدث عن دعمهم لحزمة تسوية الميزانية التي توفر الموارد لشبكة الأمان الاجتماعي الخاصة بنا والاعتراف بالأهمية الحاسمة لإدراج جميع Coloradans.

ذات أهمية خاصة للمنظمين: إفراط الكونغرس في توفير موارد ICE و CBP في مشروع قانون السنة المالية 22 الشامل ، وإدراج مسار المواطنة في المصالحة والحد من استخدام دولارات الضرائب للاحتجاز وعلى طول الحدود في ميزانية السنة المالية 23. تبادل المهاجرون وأحبائهم شهاداتهم الشخصية حول الأهمية الحاسمة للمواطنة ووضع حد لسياسات الترحيل والوكالات التي تعرض مجتمعات كولورادو للخطر.

أبناء المهاجرين رفع صوتهم في مقطع فيديو مدته عشر دقائق يوضح بالتفصيل كيف تؤثر سياسات الهجرة الفاشلة لدينا على نظرتهم لبلدهم. Aanahny Zalidivar قاد من دار البلدية. "أنا مواطن أمريكي من مواليد 13 عامًا من دنفر كولورادو وقد تم ترحيل والدي قبل عامين وثلاثة أشهر ، وقد أثر ذلك سلباً على عائلتنا ككل ، وكذلك على كل واحد منا. بصفتي طفلاً متأثرًا بنظام الهجرة المعطل هذا ، أود أن أكون صوت ملايين الأطفال الآخرين الذين تأثرت حياتهم بفعل الانفصال القسري بين أفراد الأسرة عندما طرحت سؤالي الأول ، وهو "هل ستستخدم كل الوسائل الممكنة للم شمل و حماية والدينا وعائلاتنا؟ "

جاء هذا الحدث في أعقاب الموافقة المثيرة للجدل على قرار الميزانية للسنة المالية 22 الأسبوع الماضي. أدى القرار إلى زيادة التمويل المرتفع بالفعل في عهد ترامب لإنفاذ الهجرة والجمارك (ICE) إلى 14.8 مليار دولار مع زيادة قدرها 284.7 مليون دولار عن السنة المالية 2021 وانخفاض طفيف في تمويل الجمارك وحماية الحدود الأمريكية (CBP) إلى 14.8 مليون دولار مع انخفاض 428.2 مليون دولار من أعلى مستوى تاريخي في السنة المالية 2021. في حين أن الميزانية تقدم تمويلًا مباشرًا للتغييرات الإيجابية في السياسة مثل زيادة استخدام كاميرات الجسد لوكلاء دائرة الهجرة والجنسية ووكلاء حرس الحدود ، وزيادة التمويل لمكتب خدمات المواطنة والهجرة الأمريكية (USCIS) للتخلص من تراكم قضايا الهجرة على مدى سنوات ، و لا يوجد تمويل لزيادة موظفي شركة ICE ، ومعظم الزيادة في التمويل مخصص "لأعمال الإنفاذ". يترجم إنفاذ قانون الهجرة في البلاد إلى تفكك المجتمعات ، وفصل الآباء عن أطفالهم ، ومطاردة عائلات المهاجرين ، وإبعاد طالبي اللجوء ، والاستمرار في احتجاز وترحيل الآلاف. خصص الكونجرس بشكل غير ضروري مبالغ أعلى بكثير مما طلبت إدارة بايدن.

"نحن غاضبون لأن القيادة الديمقراطية أقرت ميزانية تحافظ على التمويل وتزيده لمثل هذه الوكالات المارقة على الرغم من الوعود بنظام هجرة أكثر إنسانية ، وتتجاوز ما طلبته الإدارة. وقد اتُهمت الوكالتان بارتكاب العديد من الانتهاكات الحقوقية والمدنية ، وهما متورطتان في دعاوى قضائية منذ سنوات ، وتحقيقات داخلية ، وتقارير إعلامية مثيرة للإساءة. سمعنا في دار البلدية الليلة الماضية النتائج الرهيبة لعمل هذه الوكالات في كولورادو. إن استمرار وزيادة التمويل لأعمال الإنفاذ لن يؤدي إلا إلى زيادة قدرتهم على المزيد من الانتهاكات " راكيل لين أريلانو ، المدير السياسي في ائتلاف كولورادو لحقوق المهاجرين.

السناتور هيكنلوبر وأوضحت ميزانية العام المالي 22 “خفض تمويلات الجمارك ودوريات الحدود بمئات الملايين من الدولارات ، أي أقل بـ 420 مليون دولار عن العام الماضي. هذا لا يزال غير كافٍ للقطع. على حد علمي ، لا يوجد تمويل جديد لموظفي إنفاذ هجرة الأفراد الإضافيين أو لبرنامج البقاء في المكسيك. أعتقد أن التحقيق في شكاوى سوء السلوك من قبل موظفي وزارة الأمن الداخلي يزيد قليلاً عن 20 مليون دولار. ولا يقتصر الأمر على التحقيق في الشكاوى فقط. إنه أيضًا للوصول إلى نتيجة لحلها. أعتقد أن الجزء المهم هو التأكد من أننا لا نحقق فقط ولا نفعل شيئًا ؛ أن التحقيق يؤدي إلى اتخاذ إجراء ".

السيناتور بينيت أوضح أيضًا أن "مشروع قانون مررناه الأسبوع الماضي يتضمن 5 ملايين دولار لخدمة الهجرة لمعالجة التأشيرات المتراكمة التي تفرق العائلات".

يمكن العثور على تسجيل كامل لحدث قاعة المدينة هنا.الصفحة ) نسخة (متوفرة عند الطلب)

"قام كلا الطرفين بتزويد ICE و CBP بموارد زائدة لأكثر من عقد من الزمان. نحن نقدر اهتمام الكونجرس بالمساءلة والرقابة في حزمة السنة المالية 22 هذه ، ولكن لا يوجد عذر يمكن أن يبرر زيادة الأموال إلى ICE و CBP. كان يجب على القيادة في مجلسي النواب والشيوخ توجيه كل من ICE و CBP لإعادة ترتيب أولويات ميزانياتهما الحالية بدلاً من ذلك. نتوقع أن يقوم وفد كونغرس كولورادو بإدخال تعديلات على ميزانية السنة المالية 23 لإعادة تخصيص دولاراتنا الضريبية من ICE و CBP نحو تمثيل الأشخاص في محكمة الهجرة ، والمنظمات التي تساعد اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء في بدء الحياة في الولايات المتحدة ومعالجة التراكم بشكل أسرع ". جينيفر بايبر من لجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية

"يحظى إصلاح الهجرة بشعبية واسعة بين الناس في كولورادو وعبر البلاد ، وأصبحت كولورادو رائدة في السياسة الثنائية الحزبية والمؤيدة للهجرة. في عام 2021 وحده ، أقر المشرعون في ولايتنا 11 قانونًا جديدًا مؤيدًا للهجرة لأن قادتنا المنتخبين يفهمون ما يطلبه ناخبو كولورادو. حان الوقت للقيادة الديمقراطية في واشنطن العاصمة لتكثف وتفعل الشيء نفسه وتقود مع عدالة الهجرة كما يفعل المشرعون في ولايتنا في دنفر ، " غابرييلا فلورا ، من لجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية ، "دائرة الهجرة والجمارك ودوريات الحدود تعانيان من فرط التمويل والوكالات المسيئة. ببساطة ، من غير المقبول الاستمرار في مثل هذا التمويل الفلكي لهم ".

وأشار عضوا مجلس الشيوخ إلى أنهما يدعمان إدراج مسار إلى المواطنة في حزمة المصالحة القادمة. وأشار السناتور بينيت إلى أنه غير متأكد من وجود 50 صوتًا لصالح ذلك في حزبه الحزبي. ضغط عليه المدافعون من أجل طرحه للتصويت ، "بغض النظر عن النتيجة" ، معربين عن أن الوقت قد حان للقيادة في مجلسي النواب والشيوخ لتسجيل الأعضاء ، ليس فقط المواطنة ، ولكن بشأن القضايا الحرجة مثل الإعفاء الضريبي للطفل معفيًا ومخفضًا غداء للأطفال في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، وخفض تكاليف الأدوية والوصفات الطبية ومعالجة تغير المناخ.

السيناتور بينيت  

  • في رفع العنوان 42 "لا ينبغي استخدام قانون الصحة العامة لإغلاق اللجوء"
  • عن المواطنة في المصالحة "أعتقد أنه يجب علينا إيجاد طريقة للقيام بذلك من خلال المصالحة ، كما تقول ، لكنني أيضًا لا أعتقد أن هناك 50 عضوًا في مجلس الشيوخ هنا للقيام بذلك ، لذلك لا أريد أن أعطيك أملًا كاذبًا."
  • على الأطفال الذين انفصلوا عن عائلاتهم على الحدود "سأرسل هذا الأسبوع خطابًا إلى الرئيس ملزمًا للإدارة ، وأشجعهم على استخدام كل سلطتهم للم شملهم ، وأنت تعلم لم شمل العائلات ، وسوف أطلب خطة محدثة حول كيفية منع هذه الأنواع من الإجراءات في المستقبل

السناتور هيكنلوبر

  • على طريق المواطنة "نعم ، أنا أؤيد طريقًا إلى المواطنة ، لدي منذ فترة طويلة ، وأنا أؤيد وضع هذا المسار في مشروع قانون المصالحة ، أعتقد أنه مؤهل بكل الطرق. أنا ملتزم بذلك للحصول على الجنسية للجميع لكل 11 مليون أو 20 مليون مهاجر غير شرعي يعيشون في الولايات المتحدة ".
  • على ميزانية السنة المالية 23 "نعم سأصوت ضدهم [الزيادات في ميزانيتي ICE و CBP]"

تم تنظيم قاعة المدينة من قبل لجنة خدمة الأصدقاء الأمريكية وبرعاية مشتركة من ACLU CO و AILA-Colorado و Boulder Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Task Force و Broomfield و Adams County Faith table ، Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition ، كولورادو وظائف مع العدالة ، كولورادو ماي داي Club ، Colorado People's Alliance ، و Denver Justice and Peace Committee (DJPC) ، Faith Leaders in Action ، Pueblo ، CO ، Immigrant Rights Working Group of Denver DSA ، Indivisible Front Range Resistance ، ISAAC of Northern Colorado ، Loretto Community ، Metropolitan Denver North Islamic Center ، Mi Familia Vota ، Pueblo Faith Leaders in Action: Immigration Justice ، Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy ، Network ، Rosa Belongs Here. SEIU Local 105 ، تحالف الأديان في كولورادو ، اجتماع لجنة السلام والعدالة الاجتماعية لأصدقاء بولدر ، الملجأ ، معًا كولورادو ، جمعية الشبان المسيحيين المسيحيين في متروبوليتان دنفر

Traducir: en English
TO REPORT RECENT ICE ACTIVITY OR POLICE/ICE COLLABORATION, CALL OUR HOTLINE 844-864-8341. More Info

Colorado Immigrants Ask Hard Hitting Questions To Senators About Citizenship, Build Back Better, and Controversial Budget Increases

March 16, 2022
In the News
  • Data & Privacy
  • Immigration Reform
  • Legal Services

Denver, CO – Faith leaders, advocates, and immigrant community members joined with Senator Hickenlooper and Senator Bennet for a public town hall Monday evening. Over 200 people from Montrose to Fort Morgan, Pueblo to Fort Collins attended. Event speakers expressed support for a budget reconciliation package resourcing our social safety net and recognizing the critical importance of including all Coloradans.

Of particular importance to organizers: Congress’ over resourcing of ICE and CBP in the FY22 omnibus bill, inclusion of a path to citizenship in reconciliation and limiting the use of tax dollars for detention and along the border in the FY 23 budget. Immigrants and their loved ones shared their personal testimonies on the critical importance of citizenship and an end to deportation policies and agencies that endanger Colorado communities.

Children of immigrants raised their voice in a ten minute video detailing how our failed immigration policies impact their view of their country. Aanahny Zalidivar led off the town hall. “I am a 13 year old US born citizen from Denver Colorado and my father was deported two years and three months ago.This has impacted both our family as a whole, as well as each one of us negatively. As a child affected by this broken immigration system, I would like to be the voice of millions of other children whose lives have been impacted by forced family separations when I asked my first question, which is “Will you use every means possible to reunify and protect our parents and families?”

The event followed the highly controversial passage of a budget resolution for FY22 last week. The resolution increased already high Trump era funding for Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to $14.8 billion with an increase of $284.7 million from fiscal year 2021 and a slight decrease in funding for US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) to $14.8 million with a decrease of $428.2 million from a historic high in fiscal year 2021. While the budget does direct funding for positive policy changes such as increased use of body cameras for ICE and Border Patrol agents, increased funding for USCIS to clear years-long immigration court backlogs, and no funding for increased ICE personnel, much of the funding increase is dedicated to “enforcement work”. Enforcement of the nation’s immigration code translates to breaking apart communities, separating parents from their children, hunting down migrant families, turning away asylum seekers, and continuing to detain and deport thousands. Congress unnecessarily allocated far higher amounts than the Biden Administration requested.

“We are outraged that Democratic leadership passed a budget that maintains and increases funding for such rogue agencies despite promises of a more humane immigration system, going above and beyond what the administration asked for. Both agencies have been accused of numerous civil and human rights violations and are embroiled in years-long lawsuits, internal investigations, and damning media reports. We heard in last night’s town hall the terrible results of these agencies’ work in Colorado. Continued and increased funding for enforcement work will only increase their capacity for more abuse,” said Raquel Lane-Arellano, Political Manger at Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition.

Senator Hickenlooper explained the FY22 budget “Cuts fundings for customs and border patrol by several hundred million dollars, 420 million dollars less than last year. That’s still not enough to cut. To my knowledge there’s no new funding for additional personnel immigration enforcement personnel or for the Remain in Mexico Program. I think it’s a little bit over $20 million to investigate complaints of misconduct by DHS personnel. And it’s not just to investigate the complaints. It is also to get to a conclusion to resolve them. I think that the important part is to make sure that we don’t just investigate and do nothing; that the investigation lead to action.”

Senator Bennet also explained that “a bill we passed last week includes $5 million for the immigration service to address the visa backlogs that are keeping families apart.”

A full recording of the town hall event can be found here Recording (link) Transcript (available upon request)

“Both parties have over-resourced ICE and CBP for more than a decade. We appreciate Congress’ attention to accountability and oversight in this FY22 package, however there is no excuse that can justify increasing funds to ICE and CBP. Leadership in the House and Senate should have directed ICE and CBP to reprioritize their existing budgets instead. We expect the Colorado congressional delegation to introduce amendments to the FY23 budget reallocating our tax dollars from ICE and CBP towards representation for people in immigration court, organizations that assist refugee and asylum seekers in beginning life in the US and more quickly addressing backlogs,” added Jennifer Piper of the American Friends Service Committee

“Immigration reform is broadly popular with people in Colorado and across the country, and Colorado has become a leader in bi-partisan, pro-immigration policy. In 2021 alone, our state legislators passed 11 new pro-immigrant laws because our elected leaders understand what Colorado voters demand. It’s time for Democratic leadership in Washington DC to step up and do the same and lead with immigration justice as our state legislators do in Denver,“ said Gabriela Flora, of the American Friends Service Committee, “ICE and Border Patrol are overfunded and abusive agencies. It is simply unacceptable to continue such astronomical funding for them.”

Both senators indicated they support inclusion of a pathway to citizenship in the upcoming reconciliation package. Senator Bennet indicated he is unsure there are 50 votes for that in his caucus. Advocates pressed him to bring it to a vote, “ no matter the outcome”, expressing it’s time for Leadership in the House and Senate to put members on the record, not only citizenship, but on critical issues like the child tax credit free and reduced lunch for kids across the country, lowering medical and prescription drug costs and addressing climate change.

Senator Bennet  

  • On lifting Title 42 “public health law shouldn’t be used to shut down asylum”
  • On citizenship in the reconciliation “I believe that we should find a way to do this through reconciliation, as you say, But I also don’t believe that there are 50 senators here to do that, so I don’t want to give you false hope.”
  • On children separated from their families at the border “This week i’m going to send a letter to President binding to the administration, encouraging them to use all their authority to reunite, you know reunite families and will ask for an updated plan on how to prevent these types of actions in the future

Senator Hickenlooper

  • on a pathway to citizenship “Yes, I support a pathway to citizenship, I have for a long time, and I support putting that pathway in the reconciliation bill, I think it qualifies in every way. I am committed to this to citizenship for for all every all 11 million or 20 million undocumented immigrants living United States.”
  • On the FY23 budget “Yes I will vote against them [increases to ICE and CBP’s budgets]”

The town hall was organized by the American Friends Service Committee and cosponsored by ACLU CO, AILA-Colorado, Boulder Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Immigration Task Force,Broomfield and Adams County Faith leaders table, Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition, Colorado Jobs with Justice, Colorado Mayday Club, Colorado People’s Alliance, Denver Justice and Peace Committee (DJPC), Faith Leaders in Action, Pueblo, CO, Immigrant Rights Working Group of Denver DSA, Indivisible Front Range Resistance, ISAAC of Northern Colorado, Loretto Community, Metropolitan Denver North Islamic Center, Mi Familia Vota, Pueblo Faith Leaders in Action: Immigration Justice, Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy, Network, Rosa Belongs Here. SEIU Local 105, The Interfaith Alliance of Colorado, The Peace and Social Justice Committee of Boulder Friends Meeting, The Refuge, Together Colorado, YMCA of Metropolitan Denver