Traducir: en English
要报告最近的冰活动或警察/冰合作,请致电我们的热线844-864-8341。 更多信息

科罗拉多州移民向参议员提出关于公民身份、重建得更好和有争议的预算增加的尖锐问题

March 16, 2022
媒体报导
  • 数据与隐私
  • 移民政策改革
  • 法律服务

丹佛,CO – 周一晚上,信仰领袖、倡导者和移民社区成员与参议员希肯卢珀和参议员班纳特一起参加了一个公共市政厅。 从蒙特罗斯到摩根堡、普韦布洛到柯林斯堡的 200 多人参加了会议。 活动发言人表示支持预算调节一揽子计划,为我们的社会安全网提供资源,并认识到包括所有科罗拉多人的重要性。

对组织者来说特别重要的是:国会在 22 财年综合法案中对 ICE 和 CBP 的资源配置过多,在和解中纳入了获得公民身份的途径,并在 23 财年预算中限制使用税款进行拘留和边境沿线。 移民和他们的亲人分享了他们关于公民身份至关重要的个人证词,以及结束危及科罗拉多社区的驱逐出境政策和机构。

移民的孩子 在十分钟的视频中大声疾呼,详细介绍了我们失败的移民政策如何影响他们对国家的看法。 Aanahny Zalidivar 带领离开了市政厅。 “我是一名来自科罗拉多州丹佛市的 13 岁美国出生公民,我父亲在两年零三个月前被驱逐出境。这对我们整个家庭以及我们每个人都产生了负面影响。 作为一个受到这个破碎的移民系统影响的孩子,当我问我的第一个问题时,我想成为数百万其他生活受到家庭强迫分离影响的孩子的声音,即“你会用一切可能的方式重新统一和保护我们的父母和家人?”

该活动是在上周备受争议的 22 财年预算决议通过之后发生的。 该决议将特朗普时代已经很高的移民和海关执法 (ICE) 资金增加到 14.8 亿美元,比 284.7 财年增加了 2021 亿美元,美国海关和边境保护局 (CBP) 的资金略微减少到 14.8 万美元,同时减少了从 428.2 财年的历史高点减少了 2021 亿美元。虽然预算确实为积极的政策变化提供资金,例如增加对 ICE 和边境巡逻人员的随身摄像头的使用,增加对 USCIS 的资金以清理长达数年的移民法庭积压案件,以及没有增加 ICE 人员的资金,增加的资金大部分用于“执法工作”。 执行国家移民法意味着分裂社区,将父母与子女分开,追捕移民家庭,拒绝寻求庇护者,并继续拘留和驱逐数千人。 国会不必要地分配了远远高于拜登政府要求的数额。

“我们感到愤怒的是,民主党领导层通过了一项预算,该预算维持并增加了对这些流氓机构的资助,尽管他们承诺建立一个更加人道的移民系统,超出了政府的要求。 这两个机构都被指控犯有许多侵犯公民和人权的行为,并卷入了长达数年的诉讼、内部调查和该死的媒体报道。 我们昨晚在市政厅听到这些机构在科罗拉多州工作的可怕结果。 持续和增加对执法工作的资助只会增加他们进行更多滥用的能力,”说 Raquel Lane-Arellano,科罗拉多移民权利联盟的政治经理。

希肯卢珀参议员 22 财年预算中解释说:“将海关和边境巡逻的资金削减了数亿美元,比去年减少了 420 亿美元。 这仍然不足以削减。 据我所知,没有新的资金用于增加移民执法人员或留在墨西哥计划。 我认为调查国土安全部人员不当行为的投诉略高于 20 万美元。 这不仅仅是调查投诉。 这也是为了得出一个结论来解决它们。 我认为重要的部分是确保我们不只是调查而什么都不做; 调查导致采取行动。”

班纳特参议员 还解释说:“我们上周通过的一项法案包括为移民服务提供 5 万美元,以解决使家庭分开的签证积压问题。”

市政厅活动的完整录音可以在这里找到录音(链接) 成绩单(可根据要求提供)

“十多年来,双方都在过度使用 ICE 和 CBP。 我们感谢国会在 22 财年一揽子计划中对问责制和监督的关注,但是没有任何借口可以证明增加对 ICE 和 CBP 的资金是合理的。 众议院和参议院的领导层应该指示 ICE 和 CBP 重新确定其现有预算的优先级。 我们希望科罗拉多州国会代表团对 23 财年预算进行修订,将我们的税款从 ICE 和 CBP 重新分配给移民法庭的代表,帮助难民和寻求庇护者在美国开始生活的组织,并更快地解决积压问题,”补充说 美国朋友服务委员会的詹妮弗·派珀

“移民改革受到科罗拉多州和全国人民的广泛欢迎,科罗拉多州已成为两党支持移民政策的领导者。 In 2021 alone, our state legislators passed 11 new pro-immigrant laws because our elected leaders understand what Colorado voters demand. 是时候让华盛顿特区的民主党领导层站出来,像我们的州立法者在丹佛所做的那样,采取同样的行动并领导移民正义,”说 美国朋友服务委员会的 Gabriela Flora, “ICE 和边境巡逻队是资金过剩和滥用职权的机构。 继续为他们提供如此天文数字的资金简直是不可接受的。”

两位参议员都表示,他们支持在即将到来的和解方案中纳入获得公民身份的途径。 参议员班纳特表示,他不确定他的核心小组中有 50 票。 拥护者敦促他“不管结果如何”将其付诸表决,表示现在是众议院和参议院领导层将成员记录在案的时候了,不仅是公民身份,而且在儿童税收抵免等关键问题上为全国儿童提供午餐,降低医疗和处方药成本并应对气候变化。

班纳特参议员  

  • 关于解除第 42 条 “公共卫生法不应该被用来关闭庇护”
  • 关于和解中的公民身份 “我相信我们应该通过和解找到一种方法,正如你所说,但我也不相信这里有 50 名参议员可以做到这一点,所以我不想给你虚假的希望。”
  • 关于在边境与家人失散的儿童 “本周,我将致信总统,对政府具有约束力,鼓励他们使用所有权力让家庭团聚,你知道家庭团聚,并将要求就如何防止未来此类行动的更新计划

希肯卢珀参议员

  • 在通往公民身份的道路上 “是的,我支持一条获得公民身份的途径,我一直支持,我支持将这条途径纳入和解法案,我认为它在各个方面都符合条件。 我致力于为居住在美国的每 11 万或 20 万无证移民争取公民身份。”
  • 23 财年预算 “是的,我会投票反对他们 [增加 ICE 和 CBP 的预算]”

市政厅由美国朋友服务委员会组织,并由 ACLU CO、AILA-Colorado、Boulder Valley Uniitarian Universalist Fellowship 移民工作组、Broomfield 和 Adams 县信仰领袖表、科罗拉多州移民权利联盟、科罗拉多州 Jobs with Justice、科罗拉多州五月天共同赞助俱乐部、科罗拉多人民联盟、丹佛正义与和平委员会 (DJPC)、信仰领袖行动、科罗拉多州普韦布洛、丹佛 DSA 移民权利工作组、不可分割的前线抵抗运动、北科罗拉多 ISAAC、洛雷托社区、丹佛大都会北伊斯兰中心, Mi Familia Vota, Pueblo Faith Leaders in Action:移民正义,落基山移民倡导,网络,罗莎属于这里。 SEIU Local 105、科罗拉多州信仰联盟、博尔德朋友会议和平与社会正义委员会、避难所、科罗拉多州、丹佛大都会基督教青年会

Traducir: en English
TO REPORT RECENT ICE ACTIVITY OR POLICE/ICE COLLABORATION, CALL OUR HOTLINE 844-864-8341. More Info

Colorado Immigrants Ask Hard Hitting Questions To Senators About Citizenship, Build Back Better, and Controversial Budget Increases

March 16, 2022
In the News
  • Data & Privacy
  • Immigration Reform
  • Legal Services

Denver, CO – Faith leaders, advocates, and immigrant community members joined with Senator Hickenlooper and Senator Bennet for a public town hall Monday evening. Over 200 people from Montrose to Fort Morgan, Pueblo to Fort Collins attended. Event speakers expressed support for a budget reconciliation package resourcing our social safety net and recognizing the critical importance of including all Coloradans.

Of particular importance to organizers: Congress’ over resourcing of ICE and CBP in the FY22 omnibus bill, inclusion of a path to citizenship in reconciliation and limiting the use of tax dollars for detention and along the border in the FY 23 budget. Immigrants and their loved ones shared their personal testimonies on the critical importance of citizenship and an end to deportation policies and agencies that endanger Colorado communities.

Children of immigrants raised their voice in a ten minute video detailing how our failed immigration policies impact their view of their country. Aanahny Zalidivar led off the town hall. “I am a 13 year old US born citizen from Denver Colorado and my father was deported two years and three months ago.This has impacted both our family as a whole, as well as each one of us negatively. As a child affected by this broken immigration system, I would like to be the voice of millions of other children whose lives have been impacted by forced family separations when I asked my first question, which is “Will you use every means possible to reunify and protect our parents and families?”

The event followed the highly controversial passage of a budget resolution for FY22 last week. The resolution increased already high Trump era funding for Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to $14.8 billion with an increase of $284.7 million from fiscal year 2021 and a slight decrease in funding for US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) to $14.8 million with a decrease of $428.2 million from a historic high in fiscal year 2021. While the budget does direct funding for positive policy changes such as increased use of body cameras for ICE and Border Patrol agents, increased funding for USCIS to clear years-long immigration court backlogs, and no funding for increased ICE personnel, much of the funding increase is dedicated to “enforcement work”. Enforcement of the nation’s immigration code translates to breaking apart communities, separating parents from their children, hunting down migrant families, turning away asylum seekers, and continuing to detain and deport thousands. Congress unnecessarily allocated far higher amounts than the Biden Administration requested.

“We are outraged that Democratic leadership passed a budget that maintains and increases funding for such rogue agencies despite promises of a more humane immigration system, going above and beyond what the administration asked for. Both agencies have been accused of numerous civil and human rights violations and are embroiled in years-long lawsuits, internal investigations, and damning media reports. We heard in last night’s town hall the terrible results of these agencies’ work in Colorado. Continued and increased funding for enforcement work will only increase their capacity for more abuse,” said Raquel Lane-Arellano, Political Manger at Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition.

Senator Hickenlooper explained the FY22 budget “Cuts fundings for customs and border patrol by several hundred million dollars, 420 million dollars less than last year. That’s still not enough to cut. To my knowledge there’s no new funding for additional personnel immigration enforcement personnel or for the Remain in Mexico Program. I think it’s a little bit over $20 million to investigate complaints of misconduct by DHS personnel. And it’s not just to investigate the complaints. It is also to get to a conclusion to resolve them. I think that the important part is to make sure that we don’t just investigate and do nothing; that the investigation lead to action.”

Senator Bennet also explained that “a bill we passed last week includes $5 million for the immigration service to address the visa backlogs that are keeping families apart.”

A full recording of the town hall event can be found here Recording (link) Transcript (available upon request)

“Both parties have over-resourced ICE and CBP for more than a decade. We appreciate Congress’ attention to accountability and oversight in this FY22 package, however there is no excuse that can justify increasing funds to ICE and CBP. Leadership in the House and Senate should have directed ICE and CBP to reprioritize their existing budgets instead. We expect the Colorado congressional delegation to introduce amendments to the FY23 budget reallocating our tax dollars from ICE and CBP towards representation for people in immigration court, organizations that assist refugee and asylum seekers in beginning life in the US and more quickly addressing backlogs,” added Jennifer Piper of the American Friends Service Committee

“Immigration reform is broadly popular with people in Colorado and across the country, and Colorado has become a leader in bi-partisan, pro-immigration policy. In 2021 alone, our state legislators passed 11 new pro-immigrant laws because our elected leaders understand what Colorado voters demand. It’s time for Democratic leadership in Washington DC to step up and do the same and lead with immigration justice as our state legislators do in Denver,“ said Gabriela Flora, of the American Friends Service Committee, “ICE and Border Patrol are overfunded and abusive agencies. It is simply unacceptable to continue such astronomical funding for them.”

Both senators indicated they support inclusion of a pathway to citizenship in the upcoming reconciliation package. Senator Bennet indicated he is unsure there are 50 votes for that in his caucus. Advocates pressed him to bring it to a vote, “ no matter the outcome”, expressing it’s time for Leadership in the House and Senate to put members on the record, not only citizenship, but on critical issues like the child tax credit free and reduced lunch for kids across the country, lowering medical and prescription drug costs and addressing climate change.

Senator Bennet  

  • On lifting Title 42 “public health law shouldn’t be used to shut down asylum”
  • On citizenship in the reconciliation “I believe that we should find a way to do this through reconciliation, as you say, But I also don’t believe that there are 50 senators here to do that, so I don’t want to give you false hope.”
  • On children separated from their families at the border “This week i’m going to send a letter to President binding to the administration, encouraging them to use all their authority to reunite, you know reunite families and will ask for an updated plan on how to prevent these types of actions in the future

Senator Hickenlooper

  • on a pathway to citizenship “Yes, I support a pathway to citizenship, I have for a long time, and I support putting that pathway in the reconciliation bill, I think it qualifies in every way. I am committed to this to citizenship for for all every all 11 million or 20 million undocumented immigrants living United States.”
  • On the FY23 budget “Yes I will vote against them [increases to ICE and CBP’s budgets]”

The town hall was organized by the American Friends Service Committee and cosponsored by ACLU CO, AILA-Colorado, Boulder Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship Immigration Task Force,Broomfield and Adams County Faith leaders table, Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition, Colorado Jobs with Justice, Colorado Mayday Club, Colorado People’s Alliance, Denver Justice and Peace Committee (DJPC), Faith Leaders in Action, Pueblo, CO, Immigrant Rights Working Group of Denver DSA, Indivisible Front Range Resistance, ISAAC of Northern Colorado, Loretto Community, Metropolitan Denver North Islamic Center, Mi Familia Vota, Pueblo Faith Leaders in Action: Immigration Justice, Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy, Network, Rosa Belongs Here. SEIU Local 105, The Interfaith Alliance of Colorado, The Peace and Social Justice Committee of Boulder Friends Meeting, The Refuge, Together Colorado, YMCA of Metropolitan Denver